The Four Levels: Improved Assessment of Rain Garden Performance


The September 2008 issue of Stormwater magazine includes an article about a new approach developed at the University of Minnesota that includes controlled testing as a key component in a four-level assessment program for determing if rain gardens are functioning properly. In order of increasing effort and cost, the four levels are:

  1. Visual inspection
  2. Infiltration capacity testing
  3. Synthetic runoff testing
  4. Monitoring

According to the authors, a multi-level assessment approach allows for the identificaition of problems, potential causes, and potential solutions. Therefore, they conclude, a three-level assessment (leves one, two and/or three) will thoroughly evaluate the ability of an infiltration practice to infiltrate and treat rainwater/stormwater. They recommend monitoring (level four) as a comprehensive assessment tool for a watershed with a number of low impact development practices, including rain gardens.

For the complete story, click on this link to The Four Levels: Improved assessment of rain garden performance by Gulliver et al as published in Stormwater magazine.



Before STORMWATER, The Journal for Surface Water Quality Professionals, there was no single publication written specifically for  the professional involved with surface water quality issues, protection, projects, and programs.


Posted August 2008